How many states and union territories are there in India after 370?

What are the 29 states and 9 Union territories?

Table List of 28 States with their capitals, formation date and their population:

S.No. States Population (Per 2011 census number)
11 Karnataka 6,10,95,297
12 Kerala 3,34,06,061
13 Madhya Pradesh 7,26,26,809
14 Maharashtra 11,23,74,333

Which UT is removed?

Former union territories

Name Zone UT disestablished
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Western 26 January 2020
Daman and Diu Western 26 January 2020
Goa, Daman and Diu Western 30 May 1987
Himachal Pradesh northern 25 January 1971

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 from ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

Is J&K a state?

The state of Jammu and Kashmir was accorded special status by Article 370 of the Constitution of India. … At the same time, a reorganisation act was also passed, which would reconstitute the state into two union territories, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. The reorganisation took effect from 31 October 2019.

Are there 8 or 9 Union territories?

The 8 Union territories in India include Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Puducherry, Chandigarh, And (Read More) … Out of the nine union territories of India, Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) and J & K have their own legislatures.

How many states and union territories are there in India 2021?

The federal union of India is broken into 29 states and seven territories. All of the states and unions of the nation have three capitals. The first is the administrative capital, which is home to the executive government offices.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you cross India Pakistan border?