What are the main landforms of India?

What are three main landform regions in India?

Geographical regions

  • The northern mountains including the Himalayas and the northeast mountain ranges.
  • Indo-Gangetic plains.
  • Thar Desert.
  • Central Highlands and Deccan Plateau.
  • East Coast.
  • West Coast.
  • Bordering seas and islands.

What are the major landform?

Mountains, hills, plateaus and plains are the four major types of land-forms.

Which are the landforms in North India?

The Great Mountains of North: The northern mountains include the Himalayas, the Trans-Himalayan Ranges and Eastern Hills or Purvanchal. These extend from the plateau of Pamir to the frontiers of Myanmar for a distance of nearly 3,000 km.

How many landforms are there in India?

India’s landforms can be classified in five seperate types, respectively these are the Northern mountáin region, the Great Plains of the north, the desert of Rájasthan, the Greát Plateau and the Coastal Strips & Islands.

What are 8 major landforms?

Following are some of the common types of landforms and their characteristics.

  • Mountains. Mountains are landforms higher than the surrounding areas. …
  • Plateaus. Plateaus are flat highlands that are separated from the surroundings due to steep slopes. …
  • Valleys. …
  • Deserts. …
  • Dunes. …
  • Islands. …
  • Plains. …
  • Rivers.

What is the landform of Delhi?

The two major landforms in New Delhi are the Yammunna River and the Aravali Hills. The Aravali Hills are important in the mining of copper and other metals. The Yamuna is the largest tributary of the Ganges River.

IT IS INTERESTING:  When was the first nuclear power plant established in India and where?

What are the landforms?

A landform is a natural or artificial feature of the solid surface of the Earth or other planetary body. Landforms together make up a given terrain, and their arrangement in the landscape is known as topography.