Where is India’s only active volcano?

How many volcanoes are active in India?

India has a list of six volcanoes including the only live one, Barren Islands volcano which also happens to be the only confirmed active volcano in South Asia.

Sr. No. Volcano Name State
5. Dhinodhar Hills Gujarat
6. Dhosi Hill Haryana

Which place in India has volcano?

Download coordinates as: KML

Name Elevation Location
meters State
Barren Island 354 Andaman Islands
Narcondam 710 Andaman Islands
Deccan Plateau 1500 Central India

Why there is no volcano in India?

In case of formation of present-day South Asia, the collision involved two continental plates and not an oceanic plate. … The magma from the asthenosphere cannot penetrate such a thick continental crust and hence it stays in the crust, as a result of which there are no volcanoes in India and the entire of South Asia.

Which is the biggest volcano in India?

1. Barren Island. Barren Island is a confirmed active volcano in the South-Asia. It is located in the Andaman Sea.

Which country has no volcano?

such countries which do not have volcanoes are Nigeria, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Djibouti, Somalia, Morocco, Tunisia, Liberia, Norway, Denmark, Wales, Finland, Sweden, and Australia.

Which is the only active volcano in India Mcq?

Barren Islands is the only active volcano in India.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are 5 things about Hinduism?