Which is the smallest scheduled caste in India?

Which is the largest scheduled caste community in India?

Uttar Pradesh (35,148,377) has the largest Scheduled Caste population, followed by West Bengal (18,452,555) and Bihar (13,048,608).

Which is the highest caste in SC?

Out of sixty eight Scheduled Castes, Pulayan is the most populous caste with a population of 1,041,540 forming 33.3 percent of the total SC population of the State. Cheruman is the second largest SC numbering 316,518.

Is Scheduled Caste a lower caste?

The evolution of low castes to modern-day Scheduled Castes is complex. … Some low-caste groups, such as those formerly called untouchables who constitute modern-day Scheduled Castes, were considered outside the Varna system.

Which is the lowest category in India?

At the bottom of the heap were the Shudras, who came from Brahma’s feet and did all the menial jobs. The main castes were further divided into about 3,000 castes and 25,000 sub-castes, each based on their specific occupation. Outside of this Hindu caste system were the achhoots – the Dalits or the untouchables.

Can I change my caste from general to SC?

In Indian system every person into a particular caste. There is no way that you can your caste in your life. Meaning thereby that you cannot change your caste. Even if you change your caste most importantly your religion will remain the same.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is there any tax on gold in India?

How many caste are there in UP SC?

List of Scheduled Castes in Uttar Pradesh

Caste Population 2011 Percentage among total S.C population
Bhuiya 18,055 0.05%
Bhuiyar 24,982 0.07%
Chamar, Jatav, Gautam, Ahirwar, Raidas, Kureel, Dhusia, Ramdasia, Ravidassia, Satnami 22,496,047 54.3%
Chero (excluding Sonbhadra & Varanasi districts) 32,405 0.1%

Which caste is Raj?

The Raj are a Muslim community found in the state of Uttar Pradesh in India.

Is Arora a low caste?

Historically, the Arora section of the Khatri community had been principally found in West Punjab, in the districts to the south and west of Lahore. Scott Cameron Levi, believes that they are a “sub-caste of the Khatris“.

Related groups Khatri • Bhatia • Sood

What are the 5 castes in India?

Indian society was divided into five castes:

  • Brahmins: the priestly caste. After their religious role decreased they became the caste of officialdom.
  • Kshatriya: warrior caste. …
  • Vaisya: the commoner caste. …
  • Sudras: represented the great bulk of the Indian population. …
  • Untouchables: descendants of slaves or prisoners.