Who is guardian under Hindu law?

Who can be a natural guardian?

Under Section 6 of the Hindu Minority and Guardianship Act, 1956, the natural guardianship of a legitimate child vests in the father. A mother can be natural guardian of her illegitimate children, but when it comes to her children begotten from a marriage, she can be their natural guardian only after the father.

Who comes guardian?

Under Section 4 of the act, a guardian is defined as “a person having the care of the person of a minor or of his property or of both his person and property.” The act mentions the following types of guardians: a natural guardian. a guardian appointed by the will of the minor’s father or mother.

Who is guardian in family law?

Guardianship Under The Family Law

Any person under the protection of another is commonly known as ward. Guardian is a person who takes care of an individual who is below the age of 18 years and his personal affairs as he is incompetent to manage them on his own under family law.

Can brother be guardian?

No other person can be natural guardian, not even the brother. In the absence of the grandfather, the guardianship belongs to the grandfather’s executor, if any. ‘

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is salary earned in UAE taxable in India?

What are the powers of a guardian under Hindu law?

(1) The natural guardian of a Hindu minor has power, subject to the provisions of this section, to do all acts which are necessary or reasonable and proper for the benefit of the minor or for the realization, protection or benefit of the minor’s estate; but the guardian can in no case bind the minor by a personal …

Can father be a guardian?

Also, under Section 19 of the Guardians and Wards Act, 1890, it is stated that a father cannot be deprived of the natural guardianship of his minor child unless he has been found unfit. When the father is alive, he is the natural guardian and it is only after him the mother becomes the natural guardian.

What is guardianship law?

A guardian of a child financially maintains the child, makes important decisions about the child’s education and upbringing, and generally takes care of the child’s affairs. … The custodian has actual, physical custody of the child on a day to day basis, and must raise and take care of the child.

What are the types of guardianship?

Guardians may be of the following types:

1. Natural guardians, 2. Testamentary guardians, and 3. Guardians appointed or declared by the court.

Who Cannot be a guardian?

A person cannot be appointed a guardian if: The person is incompetent (for instance, the person cannot take care of himself). The person is a minor. The person has filed for bankruptcy within the last 7 years.

How many types of guardianship are there?

But before you name legal guardians, you should know what the differences are between the four types: personal guardians, financial guardians, conservators, and pet “guardians” (caregivers named as beneficiaries). Each of these has different responsibilities and legal authority.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is Babylonian religion older than Hinduism?