Who was the first governor of India in 1773?

Who is the governor of India in 1773?

List of governors-general

Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
Warren Hastings (1732–1818) 20 October 1773 8 February 1785
Sir John Macpherson, Bt (acting) (1745–1821) 8 February 1785 12 September 1786
The Earl Cornwallis (1738–1805) 12 September 1786 28 October 1793
John Shore (1751–1834) 28 October 1793 18 March 1798

Who was the first governor of Bengal?

Governors of the Presidency of Fort William in Bengal (1834-1854)

Governors of the Presidency of Fort William in Bengal (ex-officio Governor-General of India, 1833-1857)
# Name (birth–death)
1 The Lord William Bentick (1774–1839)
Sir Charles Metcalfe, Bt, ICS (acting) (1785–1846)
2 The Lord Auckland (1784–1849)

Who was first governor?

In accordance with the provisions of the Regulating Act of 1773, Warren Hastings became the first governor-general.

Who was the first President of India?

The Constitution was framed by the Constituent Assembly of India, established by the members of the provincial assemblies elected by the people of India. Dr Sachidanand Sinha was the first president of the Constituent Assembly. Later, Dr Rajendra Prasad was elected its president.

Who was the first and last Governor General of India?

Louis Mountbatten, Earl Mountbatten of Burma became governor-general and oversaw the transition of British India to independence. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) became the only Indian and last governor-general after independence.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is Indian and Pakistani food similar?

Who was the first governor-general of East India Company India?

It was this state that Warren Hastings inherited when he became governor of Bengal in 1772. 1772, when the first governor-general, Warren Hastings, transferred all important offices to the city……

Who was the first woman governor of an Indian state?


S. No. Name State
11 V. S. Ramadevi Karnataka
12 Pratibha Patil Rajasthan
13 Prabha Rau Himachal Pradesh

Who is our former governor?

Governors of Mysore and Karnataka

No Name Term of office
16 Hansraj Bhardwaj 24 June 2009
17 Konijeti Rosaiah 29 June 2014
18 Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala 1 September 2014
19 Thawar Chand Gehlot 11 July 2021