Your question: How many states are there in eastern India?

What are the states in East?

The eastern part of India mainly comprises of the following four states:

  • Bihar.
  • Jharkhand.
  • Orissa.
  • West Bengal.

Why are East Indians called East?

In order to differentiate the ethnic community of Bombay from the migrants, they began to call themselves the Original East Indians, after the company. Today, there are about 600,000 East Indians residing in Mumbai, Thane and Vasai.

Which country is in East of India?

Bangladesh , Bhutan and Myanmar are the neighbouring countries in east of India .

Which is the northernmost state of India?

Jammu and Kashmir is situated in the northernmost part of India.

Jammu and Kashmir Facts.

Country India
Time Zone IST (UTC+05:30)
Literacy Rate 66.7%

What are the 37 Eastern states?

States represented are Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, …

How many states are in North India?

The northern region is among the largest regions in India comprising eight states — Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh and UT Chandigarh.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Which Indian state has highest RTO?

What cities come east?

Most popular cities in East India

  • Kolkata, India. City. WildlifeLakesMuseumsGolfing. …
  • Darjeeling, India. City. KidsYouthLakesFriends. …
  • Gangtok, India. City. Must SeeSnowing. …
  • Guwahati, India. City. Must See. …
  • Imphal, India. City. …
  • Patna, India. City. …
  • Puri, India. City. …
  • Shillong, India. City.

Which states are in the Northeast?

Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, pennsylvania, puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia and West Virginia.

Who is the brother of seven sisters?

The Seven Sister states are the contiguousstates of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura in northeastern India. And so, neighbour Sikkim is called ” only brother of seven sisters states.